Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Sibelius - Brahms


Sibelius: Finlandia
Holmés: Pologne
Copland: Clarinet Concerto
Brahms: Symphony No. 4
University of Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Anna Maria Helsing. Soloist: Matilda Josefsson, clarinet.

Jean Sibelius wrote the tone poem "Finlandia" in 1899 - but that became the title only later: at the premiere in Helsinki, it was performed instead under the title "Finland Awakens". Augusta Holmés is sometimes called a composer of political programme music. One example of this is her symphonic poem "Pologne". Copland's Clarinet Concerto was written for jazz clarinettist Benny Goodman. Here the solo part is played by former student Matilda Josefsson. Brahms' Fourth Symphony, composed in 1885, became his last. The first performance took place with the composer himself as conductor.

Date: 10/11/2019

Time: 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Categories: Music

Organizer: Högskolan för scen och musik

Location: Artisten, Fågelsången 1
Sjöströmsalen, A 301

Fee: 150 kr (ordinarie), 100 kr (studenter, elever från 12 år, pensionärer och barn till 12 år)

Contact person: evenemang@hsm.gu.se

Page Manager: Karoline Axelson|Last update: 2/26/2018

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?